Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-17 - 5:19 p.m.

It's a beautiful world we live in, a sweet romantic place...

Yeah so I'm on a Devo kick.

Today I was driving south along the coast and I watched the fog come in from the sea and envelop the hills. There was this bright layer of yellowish light underneath and it was really cool. Everything here is gray and muddy, I love this area. I mean I understand why people get so depressed here, but part of me just wouldnt be comfortable living somewhere where the sky wasnt an ominous gray most of the year. When the spring finally comes, and that fresh light green from the soft baby leaves comes out, and you can lie in the dirt and look up at it to a backdrop of brilliant blue, its all just that much brighter. And theres something romantic about everything being tinted gray, its like an old movie, or a faded painting. If you wander around the woods here you can find old stone foundations and rotten wagon wheels and all sorts of human flotsam. Or you can wander a little more and find a place that looks like no human has ever set foot there before, thick old moss covering the ground and dead trees criss-crossing the forest floor with spikey old branches sticking out every which way. I used to pretend I was an orc, and I made big orc forts out of spikey fallen trees and hid out in them and planned out my revenge on the human lands. You can make a pretty wicked cool bow and arrow out of an ash branch and some string. I had a pretty okay childhood when I wasnt forced to be around other people. On that note, maybe I should go for a walk.

My favorite song today is: the Skankin' Pickle cover of "Gates of Steel" by Devo

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!