Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-26 - 9:20 a.m.

"...The scene is never what it used to be..."

She stood alone on the stage in the darkened and empty auditorium. A draught of cold air blew down over the balcony, ruffling some old cobwebs on the seats. She clutched her jacket tightly around her and took a step backwards. The tap of her heel on the wood resounded clearly in every corner of that vast space.

I'm sinking into a pattern again. Wheather it's a groove or a rut is yet to be seen. I have some good ideas for how to spend my late twenties. Well, they're actually quite vague ideas and not even that good really. But thats more than what got me here.

I've often heard it said that "All we have is now, this moment." But I think this moment is broader than just one point. We communicate with sentences that are much longer than just one moment, and yet we understand them fully. We take in everything that has happened in the past few seconds and to an extent, some things that will happen in the next few. We exist in scenes that span several seconds or minutes. If only the one tiny "right now" moment was important, conversations would have no meaning, scenes in a movie would make no sense. The human brain moves through blocks of time like rooms in a great long house. We can never go back, but we can fully appreciate each space and its specific decor before moving on to the next. It's not even something we usually think about.

I don't even care if I get paid today.

Favourite song today: "Anesthesia" - Bad Religion

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!