Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-07 - 12:29 p.m.

"parallel parking is so much easier if knowing kung fu."

Another beautiful day today. I have a slight cold. I think its from second hand weed. I think I'm the only person on the planet who plays computer games and doesnt smoke. That may explain why I can't finish most of them, I just don't have the artificially induced attention span.

I love games. I have always loved games. Even before I had a computer I would always make up my own games. They were always intenseley comlplex, I would draw out precise grids on index cards and saw up tiny pieces of wood and cover them with little statistics. Everything had to have rules and statistics, that's what made it fun.

I've gotten to a point though where I'm extremely picky about my games. I only like obscure artsy european or independant titles. I like some big-budget stuff too, but only if it has solid gameplay and high attention to detail. A lot of the problem with the industry is that its still marketed so terribly. I seriously thing all the ad and box cover designers must be twelve year old boys. Because thats the only segment of society 99 percent of that stuff is aimed at. Granted most of the games themselves are aimed that way too. I wonder why though. Games cost as much to make as movies now, so why ignore an entire half of the population with tasteless, juvenile promo campaigns? bah. I'll not rant on this further, there probably isn't a less sexxy topic.

I'm helping Twink learn how to drive today. She's the greatest.

Song of the day: "Useless" -Oingo Boingo

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!