Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-01 - 6:33 a.m.

Bah. So its been a while since I commented on the world outside myself. Heck, it's been awhile since I've been outside myself.

So I'm lookin around a bit and it looks like the eighties are back. You know, that long dark decade that started in 1978 with "Dawn of the Dead" and ended in 1992 with "The 7th Guest"? It seems like suddenly its okay to be racist on TV again. It's no longer cool to be liberal. Everywhere I feel this pull to the right in the air, its almost overwhelming. We're all lumped into one corner, us on the left, with our spears out and looking around nervously. Here and there one of us loses their nerve and jumps at shadows, only making the situation worse. We can't afford to have so many cliques. We need to calm down and rally under one flag if anything is going to be done about this. Does this mean I have to be freinds with some guy with dreadlocks, a goatee, and a "phish" sticker on his Saab 900? God I hope not. Does this mean I should vote (gasp) democratic? I've always said you should vote for the candidate you feel is best rather than compromise for the one you think has a chance to win, but... Do I really want this to happen again? Would Kodos maybe have a few less barbs in his whips than Kang? Does my vote even matter? I mean, I'm not from Florida, after all. I guess all we can do is retreat to the underground and wait this out, use our rage to make some cool art, and maybe in ten years or so we can poke our heads out of our bomb shelters and see if theres anything left. Well I'm late for work.

Song today: "You Can't Win" - Tomahawk

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!