Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-02 - 8:26 p.m.

My hands smell like lobstah. I just went up to my sisters in west bum fuck. (you actually have to go several miles down a dirt road to get to her house. I mean, I live in the woods, but she lives way the hell in the woods) I think one of the main differences between the maine accent and the boston accent is the silent "h" we add exrta where the "r" should be. Where in boston you might have "chowda", up in maine you have "chowdah". It was a wicked nice day. The food was good, my sister cooked the lobstahs, and after dinnah her husband gave me the tour of his garage and workbench. It reminded me of my dad quite a bit. He showed me where he was going to put up some shelves for my sisters horseshoes. She shoes horses and stuff for a living, shes a blacksmith. He has MS and walks around with a cane, but he manages to keep all the farm equipment running. It was a little awkward for me but not too bad. He asked me if my car was all compact under the hood like my mom's, and I had to admit with some embarrassment that I'd never looked under it. He also asked me if I liked deep sea fishing. Yeah right. "Well if you evah go, don't bring a tunafish sandwich.", he said with a laugh. "Them waves get rockin' and 'bout two in the aftahnoon that tuna sandwich don't look so good." I think I'd like to go fishing with him sometime. I think I might learn a thing or two. It'd be pretty awkward though. Nothing a 30 of Natty Ice wouldn't cure, but I dunno if he drinks. I don't see my sister very often, and shes one of maybe two or three of my seven siblings I can stand to be around. I wish I wasn't such a total social reclusive freak sometimes. People just make me nervous I guess. Well, as much as I like lobstah, I'm going to go shower and get the smell off me if I can.

Baking fact of the day: Did you know that cream of tartar is actually made from scraping the insides of old wine barrels? Yep.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!