Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-28 - 1:20 p.m.

What is it with us dorks and D&D, and video games? I guess in a way it's kind of a substitute for procreation. You get to make this character and develop it, it's a simulation of life, a controlled simulation with rules, and therefore it's better. Character creation is always the most fun part. Who is this person? what do they want to become? were they raised by wolves?etc... And from there the development is almost always positive and good. You're always getting more treasure, better abilities, more magic, and a better reputation. Then you die of course, at least in the good games, and you get to start again. Who can say no to that? Someone with a girlfriend, I guess.

I need some sleep now. This morning I got up with the alarm, got dressed and ate cereal with my eyes half open, and walked out to the car in a daze. Sitting in the car and trying my keys, I think to myself, "Why isn't this working?" Then it dawns on me. I don't drive a blue Buick Lesabre. My car is a white Pontiac Sunfire. My friends dont even generally try to talk to me for at least twenty minutes afer I wake up, it's not worth it. At least I put my pants on right-side-out today. This whole morning thing has got to stop.

This girl at work that I keep staring at all slack-jawed, I found out today she's sixteen. Big D told me, I guess he keeps better track of these things than I do. He said something about three to five for six to twelve, and I was like "what?" and had to have it spelled out for me, and then I felt naive. Damn. Well, Twink was always telling me to hook up with a sixteen year-old. I guess thats almost enough justification not to feel like a dirty bastard. And whats left over is adequately covered by the old standby, "It's not like I have a chance in hell anyway."

Speaking of dirty, I need to take a shower. And a nap. That is all.

Song of the day: Anything by Eartha Kitt

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!