Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-22 - 7:02 p.m.

"Don't even try to deny it, there's gonna be a party tonight!" -AWK

So I'm getting ready for a little soiree with the women from sandwich land. Life is good. I'm determined not to make an ass of myself. I'm posting a three drink per hour max on myself.

Banana just reminded me of a story I may or may not have told you. Once I was waiting for the T at downtown crossing, and and old man was playing "duelling banjos" accross the tracks. he had a little radio that played his duelling partner's part. So I'm standing there, and this haggard old guy with a thick scraggley beard and a thick army jacket, smelling of rancid booze kind of sidles up to me on his crutches.

"Hey." he says in a deep gravelly voice.

"Hi."

"What's that song he's playin'?" He kinda nods at the old man and I'm afraid he'll lose his balance.

"That's duelling banjos"

"No. No." Shaking his head.

I just smile and shrug.

"No, what's it from?" he says.

I think I know what he might be getting at. "Deliverance", I offer.

"Yep!" He grins toothlessly and starts laughing a bit too loud in a kind of half-coughing laugh. "Sqeeeeal like a pig! Squeeeeal like a pig!" he shouts. More laughter.

Eventually the train comes to rescue me. Ahh I miss those city days sometimes.

Song today: "Neverending Story"

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!