Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-27 - 12:53 a.m.

So glad I went to the show instead of sitting here on my ass. I went to pick the Sauceman up and he came out of his house wearing a Hugh Hefner style smoking jacket and a huge gold chain with a giant "bling bling" dollar sign hung from it. He's like, "What? It's my hardcore outfit." I remind him that someone got stabbed at the last Hatebreed show.

We stop at a gas station and he picks up some four-dollar bottle of wine for the ride. (just for him I try not to drink and drive when I can consciously avoid it). The whole way up we're singing along loudly to nerf herder and the dead milkmen, bobbing our heads and swaying and snapping our fingers. We are so cruising for an ass kicking.

When we got there the venue turned out to be this plywood shack out in a swamp miles from civilization. We had allready missed most of the bands, especially The Hope Conspiracy, which I was bummed not to see. I did catch up with Jonas at the merch table though, and we reminisced about old times at the crazy phone place. We saw most of Most Precious Blood's set, and they were allright, then we went back out so Sauce could finish his bottle. For some weird reason there were fireworks. I think Bucksport was having some kinda shindig.

Hatebreed came on and they were loud and fun. About ten seconds into their first song I get a tap on the shoulder and I turn around to see Sauceman covered in blood, all over his face and hands. I guess he got headbutted and then uppercutted in rapid succesion in those first few seconds of pit frenzy. We went to the bathroom and took a ton of photos before he cleaned up, he was posing with bloody peace signs and all that, I would post one here but he accidentally deleted them on the drive back. Doh! After that I was kinda jealous that I didn't have a wound to show for my $18 cover charge, so I got into the pit a coupe times when it got really crazy. It was intense, but alas, no punches in the face for me. I'm really impressed by these ninety-pound elfin riot grrls who get right in next to the pit, if I were that small I would be way the hell in the back with the sane people. It's fun though getting shoved around a bit, I can't quite explain why, but I can't deny I was enjoying myself.

Must get some sleep. I have no idea if I work tomorrow or not, but I'm not betting against it.

Song o the day: "Fragile" -The Hope Conspiracy

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!