Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-12 - 11:19 p.m.

Making the best of my unprecedented two consecutive days off. Slept in late, then this afternoon I raked a bucket of blueberries at the old field I used to work on when I was twelve. I know the old guy who owns the field and he lets me keep some berries if I give half what I rake to him. I do this every year or so for my mom, so she can have her years supply of pie ingredients.

I called up Ed and we went out for a couple drinks when he got out of work, then we went on a berzerk sushi rampage. In his words we "made a complete mockery of the Japanese traditions of small portions and presentation" by gormandizing four full plates worth of beautiful delicious sushi in what seemed like fifteen minutes. Oh yeah, the Little Fucker actually showed up while we were having our appetizers and had a beer with us. It's his day off too, and he had a hankerin for some thai food I guess. After the meal I headed out under the influence of sushiphoria, and had to talk myself out of buying a gamecube and a DVD player. Its weird, but I get into a momentum with spending money, once I start I don't want to stop. I was actually incredibly close to buying the cube, I had it on the checkout table, but I discovered it didn't have the tie in offer that I wanted, and that tipped my scales back to sanity and I got myself the hell out of there before I changed my mind again. I've rented three movies for tonight, "Dune" "O Brother Where Art Thou?" and "Comic Book Villains". I just watched "Dune", I was intrigued by it since I'd just read the book, and I had no idea the movie was directed by David Lynch until I was reading the box in the video store today. I was impressed, I thought it was fun, and pretty remarkable, considering it must have been pre-Industrial Light and Magic. While I watched, I was trying to imagine what it would have been like to work on a movie like that back in the day. Probably a lot of fun. A lot of the scenery was spot on to what I had imagined in the book, because for some reason when I was reading, I was picturing things in a grainy, seventies kinda way. Unless a movie is really horrible, or tries to follow the plot of the book word for word, I judge the two on their own merits. There's no comparing the two really. Of course the book was deeper and broader, and told the story in more complete detail, it was the book. But the movie had Sting in futuristic hot-pants, and a soundtrack that suddenly threw in some triumphant electric guitar when Paul rides the Shai-Hulud. Also, I had trouble picturing Alia when I was reading the book, I couldn't quite get my imagination around it. Lynch's Alia was perfect, and totally creepy as all hell. Anyway, how long have I been rambling about this? Long story short: Good book, good movie, both get my stamp of recomendation.

The Kitty just crawled outside through the screen window. Leigons of moths are now pouring into the room. Best do something about that.

Sushi of the day: Salmon, tuna, yellowtail, whitefish, and avocado topped with tobiko. Oh my god.

1 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!