Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-08-17 - 4:14 p.m.

So E called me up randomly last night and said come over. Yay for that. I guess he and J are up for the weekend. Invited me out to the island for labor day weekend, which is awesome, except when I asked for the days off today the Little Fucker was a super bitch about it. First he tried to be forceful. "Do you have to go, I'm short staffed and I'm going to need you to be here". Then he tried to put a guilt trip on me. "That sucks. A lot of people are going to be leaving this week and I'm going to need all the help I can get then." Then he tried to bargain. "Is this something you can do this weekend instead?" Then humiliation in front of the other workers. "(snort) This guy wants Labor day off!" (collecive gasp from co-workers) "Andy no!"

Now I'm going to feel crappy about it either way. But I didn't back down. I did everything properly, I asked two weeks in advance instead of the requisite one, I asked in writing as well as verbally, and no one has come up to me and said anything about being required to work those days prior to today. And I really want to go to this. The island is a really awesome place, and a lot of my friends I don't get to see very often are coming up for this. Work is actually a high priority for me, but... ugh. I'm gonna be wracked with guilt over this. Why do I have to care? I hate feeling like I'm letting someone down. Things like this make me miss the phone job.

"Hey I'm going to take four days off."

"Okay, don't let the door smack you in the ass, slacker. Hey everybody, you don't have to work so hard the next few days, Andy's not gonna be here dragging the rates down!" (cheering)

Yep, them was the days.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!