Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-10-02 - 11:18 p.m.

Made the classic mistake yesterday of saying things couldn't get worse. Today was one of the worst tip days ever. It was dead, except when the red sox played, then everyone was kinda all up in my face. And this ass ate all the cheese and vegetables I cut up, didn't buy anything and sat there reading a book at the bar. I kept polishing my knife and giving him nasty looks, but he didn't take the hint that I was feeling stabby. Making matters worse, there was some kind of Dave Mathews marathon on the radio. I changed it to the station I like that plays Benny Goodman and Louie Armstrong. Little Fucker changed it back. Feeling desperate, I compromised with the wacky jazz channel, which wasn't good, but at least wasn't Dave Mathews.

I dislike sports as a rule. But I try to pay attention to to them in the bar, because I know people are going to ask me questions, and I don't wanna seem like a total idiot. It helps my wallet sometimes too.

"Hey, you a yankees fan?", asks a customer, as he's checking out.

"Nope"

"Allright! Good man!" (gives me a nice tip)

So sometimes when it's dead, I drink beer and watch baseball. And its not the worst thing in the world to get paid for. Though I'd probably prefer to watch spongebob, I don't think it would go over really well if I put a sign outside saying "Today, Spongebob Marathon! Miller Drafts $2.50!" And I'll admit I get sucked into it. I'll admit I was kinda bummed when the team lost. Hey, I lived in Boston. And it only added to the general Bummed out-ness of this gloomy, mean spirited day.

In the end though, it wasn't so bad. Everyone left, I cleaned up and I went home. The Little Fucker even gave me a bottle of shiraz that I found kicking around under the bar, because it was extra and its not on the menu. And tommorow is supposed to be sunny and nice, and its friday, I get paid and two days off. Like everyone else.

Song of the day: "The Crowd" -Operation Ivy

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!