Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-12-29 - 11:30 a.m.

I've run into so many people from the past in the last few days. That's the risk you run being a townie around xmas time. Not all unpleasant though.

I'm going to see RotK for the third time today. I noticed a couple of things the last time that I didn't before. You may want to stop reading if you haven't seen it yet. It seems a little bit like this is a teaser for the extended DVD version, as there are a couple of spots where important scenes are noticably missing. First is the scene where Gandalf confronts the Witch King in Minas Tirith. There's a part where the Witch King says "I will break him", when the goblin captain asks "What of the white wizard", and theres a scene right after the confrontation where I could swear you can just barely see that Gandalfs staff is broken. Then in every battle scene after that he doesn't carry the staff, only Glamdring (the sword). He has the staff in the farewell scene, but by then several years have passed, so he had time to make another one I suppose. The second omission is when Frodo and Sam are forced to march with the line of orcs in disguise. There is a scene which starts with them sliding down an embankment as though perhaps they have just escaped from the orcs, and the dialogue may or may not suggest that as well. Also the disguises are never really useful in the film if nothing like that happens, so I'm sure it was cut for time's sake. Other things I hope they expound upon next november include the romance of Faramir and Eowyn, (barely hinted at) and Denethor's Palantir, which is the reason he is so batty. He does have lines when he says "I have seen much more than you know" or something like that, but they never explain how. It would make sense to have a scene explaining all that, especially when we've allready seen how badly Sauruman's Palantir fucks with Pippin.

Whew. Well there's my wish list for Mr. Jackson. And once again I've proved that I'm a huge nerd. Yay for that.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!