Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-08 - 12:11 a.m.

We have a little sign at the bar, it reads, "If you're drinking to forget, please pay in advance!" I didn't put it up, and I think it's pretty stupid. However, every day, many many people come in, read the sign aloud, and then laugh out loud. Sober people, before they start drinking.

I was about to say something terribly cynical about humanity, but I'll try not to. I don't think I'm the smartest person in the world, in fact I know lots of people smarter than me. (though secretly I know it's just because they have more practice at thinking) Anyway.. A lot of people are stupid. Some things suck, and they are the result of these people who are out there who pull down the common denominator, who don't care about what they read or watch or listen to. That guy who writes "The Family Circus", I don't know what he gets paid, but it's too damn much. And don't get me started on television. Okay, so I'm being a jerk a little. I'll stop now.

I guess it's okay. All the crap makes the good stuff that much more precious. And being dumb doesn't make you bad necessarily, there are plenty of smart people who are shitheads and have terrible taste.

And I like a lot of stuff. As I get older, I allow myself to like, or at least not despise some things that would have made a younger me froth at the mouth. Being too picky just ends up making you miserable, I know, I have friends who still don't like anything. I don't know, maybe twenty years from now I'll walk into a bar, see an inane witticism on a sign, read it aloud and laugh. I'll slap the brooding young bartender on the shoulder and say "Tha's a right funny one mate, I like that!" He will laugh politely and try not to make eye contact as he tells me where to sit down. Little does he know, I'm not the least bit british. I'll buy $50 worth of champagne, argue with him about the meaning of happy hour, and leave a two dollar tip. It won't matter because I'm old and don't give a shit about anything anymore.

People depress me. A precious few of them give me hope and I love them marianas deep, truly and forever, but long days of dealing with the public are bringing me down a bit. Well, I'm going to try to bring it back up a couple notches with some Andrew WK and some dance dance revolution. God how I wish I could combine the two.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!