Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-21 - 12:41 a.m.

I made three mix CD's today for girls at work. It's time consuming, because I try to make each one unique and match it to personality, but totally fun, and I got nothing better today. I end up doing a ton every summer, because when I give one to someone I inevitably get a "Hey, how come she gets a mix tape?"

Well, because she asked for one. And its not that I don't make them for guys or anything, but its mostly women who ask. The directory I save all the mixes in is full of filenames like "sara's mix", "becki's mix", "katie's mix", "becki's mix 2" (perrenials get sequels), etc... In fact, I have two sara's now, so I'll have to find a way not to confuse them. Mix tapes are sacred things, after all. I'd never make exactly the same mix for two people. Some people never get them, some people don't like them. It's just a thing I like to do I guess. Plus it may give me some cultural leverage with my naive young waitresses. I always say things like "Rock the Casbah" and they look at me like I'm a crackhead.

What else is new... Oh yeah, I played in a miniatures tournament today and lost to a guy with down syndrome who didn't know the rules. Oh well, at least I have the ability to laugh at myself.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!