Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-28 - 11:58 p.m.

Disclaimer: The following entry is about my job, and is therefore less amusing than something else you could probably be doing right now. You've been warned.

I'm in the midst of a heroic nine day-in-a-row ten-hour-a-day stretch at work. It would be mostly okay except my last waitress went back to school today, so for the next five days I have to do her job as well as mine. I'm not complaining, I guess. I love the job, really. It's the most fun I've ever had at work. Challenging, rewarding, and no-one constantly looking over my shoulder. But doing lunches by myself is overload. There is so much to do at once I just physically can't do it all. Some things have to get dropped from the queue somewhere. Those things are usually uptight hungry tourists, who inevitably get really pissed at me. I guess I just have to say "Fuck 'em" and do the best I can with what I've got. It's interesting in a way to be in that kind of situation, because I can see exactly how much I'm capable of. At least as far as my foodservice skills go. Which, while not as good as my comic making skills, are significantly better than my telesurveying or blueberry raking skills. But its cool to at least know something about all that. Thats part of why I want to go back to school. I just want to try out some new stuff, see how good at it I can get. So maybe I'm not passionate about anything. who cares. I can at least be pretty good at a bunch of stuff. I know I can if I try. That's what I've learned from dance dance revolution. I can be good at anything I put effort into, even if it's not something I or anyone else would expect me to be good at. And the unexpected can be fun, and cool, and provide opportunities I might not have otherwise had. You know that old-ass saying "Jack of all trades..." I don't know exactly what being a "jack" means as I've never heard it in any other context, but I'm gonna say it means being "pretty good" at something. Not great, but knowing about it. That appeals to me. You can be a guy who practices this one pool trick for like twelve years, and its an amazing trick and no one else in the world can do it, you're amazing and you get on some shitty tv show for five minutes or so, and then you realize its twelve years later and all your girlfriends get tired of the pool trick really quick and go on to date some guy who knows how to do an oil change, write poetry and keep a paying job and an apartment with no fleas. Or you can be that other guy and forever be pissed that your girlfriend fucked that idiot who can do the stupid pool trick first. As for me, I don't know how to do an oil change, never have. But maybe I can learn how to program computers. Maybe I'll like it. Maybe I'll learn something else instead. I dunno.

I should get some sleep. I should get a lot, the stress has been getting to me. I woke up screaming the other night, I was thrashing around in my blanket halfway across the room before I came to. It happens a lot but that was a pretty bad one. No wonder no one will sleep with me. Ha ha. But its all okay. Once these five days are up, it's Matinicus time, the most magical awesome time of the year. Yay for that.

Cheers.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!