Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-19 - 10:16 a.m.

SO it's almost halloween. Got any plans? I'm going to be whatever gender-ambiguous thing I feel like, and uptight maine chicks be damned.

Actually I'll probably not have time to think of anything good, much less make it reality.

I was watching this documentary about thew weather underground the other day. It's insane that they got away with blowing up so much stuff, and now they're respected members of society. If anyone did that today, I feel like they'd be caught and hung within hours. The weight of this whole "Patriot Act"/Big Brother thing stands out in strong contrast next to something like that. Not that I necessarily beleive in violent protest, but those kids did take a stand for something, and stuck to it, sacrificing a lot over those ten years or so. As our country seems to become more and more polarized, people on both sides of this imaginary "fence" just get more bitter and assanine. Who defines this fence anyway? "Freedom of speech" is one of the greatest ideas the establishment has come up with in centuries. People who can say whatever they want are less likely to actually do something about it. So we have Michael Savage on he right and Randi Rhodes on the left, both not effecting actual change, they're just steam valves on the extremes. And even the extremes are pre-defined it seems.

I feel like there is less and less room for the creative individual here. Or maybe just a greater need for some. Hard to say.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!