Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-12-03 - 11:02 p.m.

Every year in our litte coastal town we have "christmas by the sea". All the shops stay open late, and there is a parade and carolers, and santa claus comes through and talks to everybody. Anyway, today was that day. Except we had a big snowstorm, which went from sometime in the morning when I was asleep, to about five pm. Somewhere in that time, someone decided to cancel the parde, carolers, santa, etc.. because of the weather. But after six or so, when it wasn't snowing, all the families were out milling about the shops, enjoying the snow and christmassy atmosphere, and they all lined up on the streets like happy little whos waiting for the parade, waiting for santa claus, who never came.

There is nothing sadder in this world than watching tons of families line up waiting for a parade that never comes. How will all those paradeless little kids be consoled? You can't just replace a parade, not with all the candy canes and who-hash in the world. A little kid came into the shop with his dad. Not crying or anything, but he just looked wicked bummed. It was heartbreaking. The face of a little chum who had been promised a visit from santa, and that deadbeat santa never delivered. You could almost read the first inklings of santa doubt in his face. What if santa forgets christmas too? I wanted to give the kid a cookie or a roller coaster or something.

It seems ridiculous I'm sure, but I'm never going to forget that image of seeing those people lined up along the street in their hats and coats and mittens, and that little boy's face.

I think I have way too many emotional problems to ever be a parent.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!