Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-02-24 - 11:45 a.m.

I watched "Garden State" last night, and I feel dumber for having done so. There was some good cinematography, and the actors were pretty, but it was sort of like toast with cinamon and sugar. Tasty, but without real substance. I think Zach Braff could make a good film, but maybe someone else should play the lead, either that or he needs to be willing to write a lead with a little more depth. His character had no flaws whatsoever, you could practically see the halo above his head. There was some funny stuff that was clever, but could have been better if he were willing to let the characters get a little dirt on them. It could have been a lot more real and believable, easier to empathize with. I dunno, maybe the whole thing was supposed to be seen through the sleepy indifferent haze of zoloft, and that was the whole point. In any case, all that toast talk has made me hungry.

2 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!