Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2005-11-16 - 12:13 a.m.

Why is it when I go to see a matinee on a tuesday, and there are only two other people in the theatre, they choose seats directly behind me and talk through the enitre thing?

"Who's that girl?"
"I don't know"
"What are they doing?"
"Who can say?"
"This is a weird movie"
"Yes, I think we got bamboozled"
"It's not like the thin man at all"
"I think they're showing the thin man tonight"
"I want to go see the thin man"
"I wish we'd seen the thin man"
"I want to see pide and prejudice too"
"Did you read that book?"
"Who's that girl? is that the girl who got killed before?"
"I don't know."
"Look at them all smoking,. disgusting."
"She's crying now. Why is she crying?"
"Who can say? I don't understand any of this."
"Now she's walking, theyre both walking."

Jesus K. Fucking Reist, of course theyre walking! Shut your goddamn cock holster!

Can I yell at an elderly couple on a tuesday afternoon? Can I scream at them, tell them they're being rude, offer to buy their tickets back if they just leave? No I can't, I don't. It's not what I do. I try to ignore them, plug my left ear when their obnoxious banter inevitably starts up again every few minutes, throw them a couple of nasty looks and try to enjoy the movie as best I can. And It's not that I didn't enjoy it, I liked it quite a bit, which just made the people all the more irritating. My entertainment is sacred. I don't want to talk during a movie, I don't want to communicate with anything but the film itself. I want to allow my disbelief to be suspended. I want to immerse myself in the story's every detail. I don't want to be reminded of myself sitting there, to be pulled out of the illusion. And I can't understand why anyone else would. Color me intolerant and closed minded. I wonder if these people ever allow themselves to really experience anything? Is it that they need to be constantly present and self aware for fear of losing themselves? Do they get scared if they can't hear themselves constantly talking? Or I don't know, maybe their lives are complete and fullfilling, and they don't need movies to make them happy. Who am I to say, I'm just some dork there by myself. I don't wish them any real harm, I guess, and I'm not so angry now I've had a chance to vent, but I still don't understand. And I'm grateful for the miracle of the DVD.
speaking of which, I'm wasting some valuable buffy time here.

cheers.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!