Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2006-04-03 - 3:14 a.m.

A bird crapped on me yesterday. Actually, I thought it was pretty funny. I went outside to put out the tables at the restauraunt, and plop. I was like "Aw crap." Then I just burst out laughing. I mean, what's funnier than getting shat on, really. Thank you for that moment, powers that be. It actually brightened my whole stupid month.

I just watched "Cinema Paradiso." Stunning. I've had the disc from the online rental store for like three months, couldn't bring myself to watch it. Needed the right moment, and this was it. What a gorgeous, fantastic film. What a perfect ending. I actually predicted it from the first scene, but all the same, quite moving. I have to force myself to watch a movie like that, three hours long with subtitles, but I'm always enthralled the whole way through. It does take a special day though. A quiet stretch alone, after dark.

In Maine, we have Mount Khatadin. (sp?) It's the biggest rock we've got. from the summit, there is this trail called the "knifes edge." It's a rocky path across a ridge about a mile up in the air. at times its only two or three feet across, with a sheer dropoff on each side. I remember climbing across this when I was about eleven, and being in awe of the fact that I was climbing across this rock, and on either side of me I could look down and see clouds and small airplanes and stuff. It was unreal. Sometimes I feel like that, like there are two dramatic ways to go, both irreversible, either outcome completely different. Maybe that's just my human ego, wanting to believe it's important, that my decision can make a difference.

Remember that thing moms are supposed to say? "If all your friends jumped off a cliff, would you?" I gotta wonder who is that first kid who makes the plunge? Who's got the courage to start this avalanche of bodies, the charisma to make it happen? It has to be someone special.

By the way, swishing milk of magnesia around in your mouth does wonders for canker sores. I really appreciate good endings, because as you can see, they're not my forte'.

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!