Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-27 - 10:45 a.m.

"...So you better get groovin', cuz life is passing you by"

Yeah Skankin Pickle. My favorite band from way back in those crazy introverted jasmine scented high school days in this crazy brick colored, sea-salt encrusted coastal Maine town where in the summer there are more license New York and Massachusetts plates than native ones.

The weird thing is, ska never died here. I still see high school kids with two tone wingtips or red suspenders and porkpies. Bands from boston that nobody cares about anymore can come up here and play a show in the local tavern to a packed house. It's like there's some sort of cultural bubble here which floated in from california about five years too late and just never popped. Who is to blame for this anomaly? Is it the local record store guy, who still stocks a reggae and ska section at least half as large as his limited "pop/rock" section? Is it our isolated location? Is it the uniquely stubborn spirit of the kids here who rarely accept something new, and when they do, they refuse to let it go? I can't say for sure.

Operation Ivy, Skankin Pickle, The Skunks, Mephiskapheles, The Porkers, Thumper, and others will always have a special (no pun intended) place in my heart. And I still listen to all of them. I havent bought any in recent years though and I've branched out into a broader variety of styles. Right now though, I feel like I'm living in "the town where ska never died" and I'm not sure wheather to be creeped out or just amused.

Favorite song today: "The Hussein Skank" - Skankin' Pickle

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!