Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-07 - 1:15 a.m.

Corn Mo's residency is officially over, as I have gone through all of the songs on his "The Magic is You!" CD. When I was sixteen or seventeen years old, and started to take an interest in music for the first time in my life, I bought some CD's. One of the first ones I got was "Energy", by Operation Ivy. I loved listening to it, I loved how much the singer and the band put into every song. I listened to it over and over again on my headphones attatched to my ancient caddy-based CD-ROM drive, which was the only CD player I had. Op Ivy gave a shit about the stuff they were playing, and they made me give a shit about it, just from listening. They talked about the power of music, the importance of thinking for yourself no matter what, and the immorality of our power-hungry society. Maybe I loved it because I was brought up listening to people preach, maybe I loved it because it felt rebellious and I had never really rebelled, maybe both. But the real value in that album was the passion that the artists had put into making it. I tried listening to some other similar sounding punk bands, but they just werent the same. Somewhere along the line, I lost that CD, and I'm too embarassed to actually go and buy it anywhere. I dunno why I feel I have to prove my coolness to music store clerks, but thats another topic for another day. Time has passed and I've changed, and my taste in music has changed too. I buy stuff and I listen to it, and I like most everything I get pretty well. But the Corn Mo CD... When I hear him sing "Busey Boy", I feel the passion behind it, he makes me feel that way I felt back then, listening to my CD over and over. His topics aren't political, his songs are about things like being mistaken for Gary Busey, or having your picture taken for a yearbook, or being a peice of balogna. But the passion is there, and I love the album dearly, I can listen to it again and again. It makes me feel good, the way only good music can. For me, life is about feeling things strongly, and art is about making people feel things strongly. Good art doesn't force you to feel though, it lets you feel, because it feels so strong in and of itself. That's what I have to go for if I'm ever going to be any good, and it's truly intimidating. Stuff that good is rare. I need some sleep, I have to get up early because my car was recalled. Apparently theres some flaw in the steering system which may kill me. Good to know. That's all for now then.

Favourite song today: "The Auld Triangle" -The Pogues

0 comments so far

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!